Evans High School logo

Evans High School

Evans High School

A Diverse and Innovative School of Excellence.

Telephone02 9621 3622


Years 11 - 12 Life Skills

Years 11 – 12 Life Skills


What is Years 11 – 12 Life Skills?

For a small percentage of students with special education needs, particularly those with an intellectual disability, adjustments to teaching, learning and assessment may not be sufficient to access some or all of the Stage 6 outcomes. Syllabuses developed by the NSW Education Standards Authority for each stage of learning, Early Stage 1 to Stage 6, are inclusive of the full range of learners. Years 11 – 12 Life Skills are an alternative pattern of study to regular syllabus outcomes.

In Stage 6, there is at least one Life Skills course for each key learning area. Each Stage 6 Life Skills course comprises a:

  • 2-unit Year 11 course (120 hours)
  • 2-unit Year 12 course (120 hours)

Students studying English Life Skills, Mathematics Life Skills, or four or more Life Skills courses in Year 12 are exempt from the HSC minimum standard for literacy and numeracy.



Students who follow a Life Skills pattern of study are not eligible for an Australian Tertiary Admission Rank (ATAR). Instead, they can receive a Record of School Achievement (RoSA) if they successfully complete Year 10 or Year 11 Life Skills courses.

For every successfully completed Life Skills course an accompanying Profile of Student Achievement is included with the RoSA to provide students with more details of their achievements from each course.