Evans High School logo

Evans High School

Evans High School

A Diverse and Innovative School of Excellence.

Telephone02 9621 3622


Years 7 - 10 Life Skills

Years 7 – 10 Life Skills


What is Years 7 - 10 Life Skills?

For a small percentage of students with special education needs, particularly those with an intellectual disability, adjustments to teaching, learning and assessment may not be sufficient to access some or all of the Stage 4 and Stage 5 outcomes. Syllabuses developed by the NSW Education Standards Authority for each stage of learning, Early Stage 1 to Stage 6, are inclusive of the full range of learners. Years 7 – 10 Life Skills are an alternative pattern of study than regular syllabus outcomes. Most students with special education needs will meet curriculum requirements by participating fully in learning experiences based on the regular syllabus outcomes and content.

Each Years 7–10 syllabus includes Life Skills outcomes and content. Indicative hours for courses based on Life Skills outcomes and content are the same as the regular courses. These hours are outlined in the mandatory curriculum requirements.



Students can meet all Years 7–10 mandatory curriculum requirements for a Record of School Achievement (RoSA) by satisfactorily completing courses based on Life Skills outcomes and content.